About Us

Robert E. Lee Soil & Water Conservation District
Serving the Counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Campbell and the City of Lynchburg

The mission of the Robert E. Lee Soil and Water Conservation District is to be a leader in natural resource conservation through partnerships, conservation education and technical assistance.

protecting our natural resource

More about the District: Soil conservation is not something new or recently considered. In the mid-1930’s Franklin D. Roosevelt wrote to the governor of each state recommending legislation to establish soil and water conservation districts to prevent the loss of valuable soil resources. The President’s letter expressed this concern: “The nation that destroys its soil destroys itself.” Soil Conservation District laws were passed in all states to provide local leadership for soil conservation programs.

The Robert E. Lee Soil and Water Conservation District was organized on July 24, 1940, under the provisions of the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Districts Law of 1938. The District was originally made up of the counties of Amherst, Appomattox, Campbell, Buckingham and Cumberland. It was reorganized in 1972, at which time the City of Lynchburg joined the District and Buckingham and Cumberland Counties withdrew to form a separate Soil and Water Conservation District known as the Peter Francisco District. Amherst, Appomattox, Campbell Counties and the City of Lynchburg now make up the Robert E. Lee District.

The District covers an area of about 1385 square miles. Programs and initiatives are directed by a volunteer Board of Directors. Two Directors are elected to four-year terms from each of the the counties and the City of Lynchburg in the regular general elections. Two additional Directors are appointed; one serves as a Director at-large and the other represents Virginia Cooperative Extension. Associate Directors are also appointed by the Board for their expertise, as they apply to the District’s mission.

Staff: The District’s Staff consists of an Office Administrator, Conservation Education Specialist(currently vacant) and Two Ag. BMP Conservation Specialists (one for the Chesapeake Bay region of the District and one for outside the Chesapeake Bay region of the District) ( OCB position is currently vacant.)  The staff operates out of an office in Appomattox, VA where.

Responsibilities of the staff include:

  • Administration of the Virginia Agricultural Cost Share Program (VACS)
  • Environmental Education and Outreach
  • Coordination of  District Operations
  • Operation and Maintenance of 6 Watershed Dams located in Appomattox & Campbell Counties

District meetings are held on the fourth Thursday of every month at 6 pm at the Spring House Restaurant in Lynchburg, VA. (no meeting in December). The public are welcome to attend.